What I learned in Comm269

Image credit: Orgut Cayli via compfight
Image credit: Orgut Cayli via compfight

Communication 269 course has taught me tremendous things about the public relations field.  Being aviation major I did have a clue what public relations was really about. Coming into this class I thought that it was going to be a very tough class but it turns out that it’s not so tough as long as you show up and make sure you are prepared for what’s to come. After taking this course I can define public relations which are a strategic communication process that builds mutually beneficial relationships between organizations and their publics.

Communication 269 has taught me how to make a professional LinkedIn, Twitter, and Blog. I’m very thankful to have taken this class because I did not know anything about twitter. I did not know how to even know how to hashtag or let alone tweet but I can honestly say that by taking this course it has taught me to tweet and hashtag. Communication 269 also helped me to be a blogger. I never seen myself as being a blogger but thanks to this course I know how to blog. Communication 269 has not only taught me how to make professional social media’s, it has also helped me to better sell myself online for any job that may come my way.

I also learned to make press releases and code of ethics page. A press release an official statement issued to newspapers giving information on a particular matter.  A code of ethic is a written set of guidelines issued by an organization to its workers and management to help them conduct their actions in accordance with its primary values. I would not have known what a press release or code of ethics was if I had not taken this course.

I also would like to recommend that you take Communication 269 with professor Mullen. She has not made this a learning course for public relations but she also made it a very fun and enjoyable course at the same time. Instead just reading the chapter plain from the book she had creative PowerPoint’s and cast studies to go alone with them. Her teaching style did not bore me or put me to sleep like some professors. Her energetic and humorous personality made the course more enjoyable and learning at the same time.

Leave a Reply

